az en
News / UEFA Nations League – general information

UEFA Nations League – general information

Nations League published on: 20.09.2017 print
The UEFA Nations League is an international association football competition to be contested by the senior men's national teams of the member associations of UEFA.
The tournament will be held every two years as part of the current international tournament calendar. The first competition will be held in the season 2018/19.
The aim of the competition is to ensure the success of the football for national teams and the competition will make it more competitive.
A compact format that can be decisive for each game, not only ensures the dynamic of the tournament, but also encourages teams be able to approach all the matches carefully.
Every match within UEFA League will be important
UEFA Nations League – general information
The 55 UEFA member associations will participate in the competition.
In order to ensure that national teams play against the teams with the same coefficient rankings, they will be divided into four divisions (called Leagues) based on coefficient rankings. In each division, four groups are formed (three or four teams in each group).
Each group winner is automatically promoted to the next higher division for the next tournament. Each team placing last in its group is automatically relegated to the next lower division.
The group winners / the teams finish bottom in their group will determine the groups for the next season of the tournament.
League A includes the top-ranked sides and League D includes the lowest.
Azerbaijan will compete in Group D in the first UEFA Nations League.
The four League A group winners participate in the finals to determine the UEFA Nations League winner. The Final Tournament will be held in June 2019. In the top division League A, the winners of the four groups go on to play in the Nations League Finals, with two semi-finals and one final to decide which team becomes the UEFA Nations League champion.
The UEFA Nations League brand was launched in Lausanne on January 24.
During the event there was also held the draw of the group stage and the competitors of Azerbaijan national team were named.
In September, October and November 2018, within each group teams will play against each other in home and away matches. Azerbaijan will play its first match against Kosovo at Baku Olympic Stadium on September 7.
In Group D the four group winners are promoted to League C for the 2020 edition.
The top four ranked teams that do not qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 will enter a play-off in March 2020, with one finals place on offer.
There are so many reasons to look forward to the UEFA League!
Main Sponsor 
Project Partners